NHS Health Education England

NHS Health Education England
 

Paediatrics

Page image

A great mixture of internationally recognised hospitals, a carefully structured training programme and a thriving sports, social and arts scene. These are just three reasons why you should develop your paediatrics career in the East Midlands.

The East Midlands is a modern and vibrant region with superb road, air and rail links to the rest of the UK and beyond. Rich in history, it also boasts acres of beautiful countryside and some of the UK's most popular cities.

Nottingham was recently named as one of the Sunday Times 50 best urban areas to live in the UK and is home to both the country's hottest local music scene and to Test match cricket. Leicester is the UK's most multicultural city and just 67 minutes from London by train while Derby is the gateway to the Peak District, the UK's first National Park.

With the average house price around a third of what it is in London - yet the capital  is just 90 minutes away by train - the East Midlands is the perfect place to develop your career. Keep reading to find out more about why you should train in the East Midlands.

5 reasons to train in paediatrics in the East Midlands

When you train in paediatrics in the East Midlands you'll benefit from a programme that is structured to your personal development. You'll spend a good proportion of your training time in internationally recognised large centres, geographically close for easy access. And, you'll be based in the heart of the UK, with 90% of the population of England under two hours travel away.

Paediatric training in the East Midlands gives you:

  • Experience in a superb mixture of internationally recognised hospitals including the University Hospitals of Leicester, Royal Derby Children's Hospital and Nottingham University Hospitals
  • A flexible training programme to enhance your career prospects
  • Access to high quality courses including 'teaching the teacher' and management programmes
  • The chance to learn from large, busy neonatal units that lead the way in neonatal resuscitation training and education
  • The chance to develop your career at Europe's largest ECMO service, providing life-saving treatment to babies and children from the UK and beyond

Unlike other regions in the UK, we believe in supporting your development at large centres rather than small, peripheral hospitals. And, because the training region is geographically small you can be sure that your posts won't suddenly involve a lengthy commute. You'll benefit from a small rotation while being able to draw on the strengths of major centres including Nottingham, Derby and Leicester.

Unrivalled specialist services to support your paediatrics training

As well as broad and comprehensive general paediatric training you can also choose from a range of specialist modules.

For example, you can choose to focus on neurodisability training through rotations at the Nottingham Children's Centre. You can specialise in paediatric cardiac services at Leicester's recently expanded Children's Hospital. Or, you can develop your skills in large paediatric A&E departments in major urban areas.

If you want the best paediatric training while enjoying your life in a modern and family-friendly location, the East Midlands is for you.

For more information on training in Paediatrics in the East Midlands please contact one of our Training Programme Directors:

Joe Fawke - joe.fawke@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Tracy Tinklin - tracy.tinklin@nhs.net

Carol Bertenshaw - carol.bertenshaw@nuh.nhs.uk

Jasmina Marinova - jasmina.marinova@kgh.nhs.uk

Judith Grant - judith.grant@nuh.nhs.uk

Louise Wells - louise.wells@nuh.nhs.uk

James Whitelaw - james.whitelaw@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Chris Wighton - chriswighton@doctors.org.uk